Favorite Words of Vincent Van Gogh


Find things beautiful as much as you can. Most people find too little beautiful.

Art is to console those who are broken by life.

I know nothing with any certainty but the sight of the stars makes me dream.

I put my heart and soul into my work, and I have lost my mind in the process.

Color in a painting is like enthusiasm in life.

I would rather die of passion than of boredom. fullsizeoutput_1ac2

Go out and paint the stars.

I feel that there is noting more truly artistic than to love people.

I wish they would only take me as I am.

I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart.

Though I am often in the depths of misery, there is still calmness, pure harmony, and music inside me.

I am still far from being what I want to be, but with God’s help I shall succeed.

The beginning is perhaps more difficult than anything else, but keep heart, it will turn out all right.

Christ is more of an artist that the artists: He works in the living spirit and living flesh. He makes men instead of statues.

Love makes your soul crawl out from its hiding place.

Be clearly aware of the stars and infinity on high. Then life seems almost enchanted after all.

A great fire burns within me, but no one stops to warm themselves at it, and passers by only see a wisp of smoke.

Normality is a paved road: it’s comfortable to walk, but no flowers grow on it.

fullsizeoutput_1ac6I try more and more to be like myself, caring relatively little whether people approve or disapprove.

Great things are not done by impulse, but by a series of small things brought together.

I always think that the best way to know God is to love many things.

I am always doing what I cannot do yet, in order to learn how to do it.

To believe in God for me is to feel that there is a God not a dead one, or a stuffed one, but a living one, who with irresistible force urges us towards more loving.

 

Leave a Reply

